Hron-Rād

The Manimal is a suit-and-tie kinda guy (or as we prefer to say: he’s the Greg to my Dharma), so when I stumbled upon a free pattern for a seed-stitch tie, I just couldn’t pass it up!

Nor could I pass up the opportunity to use this yarn – a lovely Malabrigo Dos Tierras color fittingly dubbed “Whales Road.”  The yarn itself is a DK weight, which is a little thinner than the worsted weight for which the pattern called… to make up the loss, I doubled-up the yarn, essentially knitting with two strands rather than one.

I know.  I can’t do anything the easy way.  But that’s okay, because he absolutely loves it and has made it clear he expects at least 15 additional knitted ties of different colors and in a variety of patterns.  🙂

I call this one “Hron Rād,” after the kenning for the ocean which translates as “Whale-Road.”

Hron-Rād

Item:  Tie

For Whom:  The Manimal

Date:  2017

Tools:  Circulars, 5.0 mm (US 8)

Yarn Brand:  Malabrigo Yarn

Yarn Name:  Dos Tierras

Color:  Whales Road

Yarn Weight:  DK

Fibers:  50% Merino Wool / 50% Alpaca

Insert Rejoinder Here:

